Physician’s Formula pH Matchmaker Blush in “Natural” – review and swatch

I first saw this blush featured over at Vampy Varnish and the colors looked so nice, when I saw them at a local Walgreen’s, I snatched up one in “Natural.”  Now, I’m not really one for gimmicks in makeup so I was mostly interested in the color and formula — and didn’t even pay attention to the idea put forth that this blush should ~*~magically change color and become the perfect blush for you~*~ stuff.  I mean, really?  Has that ever worked? Any time I’ve seen color-changing lip colors, for example, it always comes out the same color on everyone — mood lipstick, anyone?

But hey, as long as the color/texture is great then it’s all good.  I’m not expecting magic-blush, here!  And I have to say, lately Physician’s Formula has been stepping up their game when it comes to making interesting and trendy products in modern, pretty packaging.

 

Here are their claims:

Makeup Powered by You!

1st Ever Blush with pH Power Complex transforms into your perfectly personalized hue.

Fluorescein Based Dye-senses the pH level of your skin & adjusts within 60 seconds to create your perfect blushing glow.

Photochronic Powders-light adjusting pigments adapt to your environment so color looks the same indoors & outside.

Look your Best in Every Light!

LED-powered compact lights up and features a full-size mirror for touch-ups anywhere & everywhere!

 

Physician's Formula pH Matchmaker Blush
Natural

Physician's Formula pH Matchmaker Blush
Natural

Physician's Formula pH Matchmaker Blush
Natural -- the brush is less useless than most! Score!

The bad thing about me is that I never pay much attention to the details on an item when I decide to buy it.  I had NO IDEA when I bought this that it LIT UP.  Yes, that’s right, it has tiny little lights on it so you can do your makeup anytime!  What a neat idea!

Physician's Formula pH Matchmaker Blush
Natural

I excitedly turned the lights on and held it up to my face…. and was totally blinded. Jeezy freakin’ creezy these lights are bright.  I saw stars literally for almost 10 minutes after I shrieked and flinched away.  I just don’t know how useful these insanely bright lights are in terms of helping you put on your makeup.  They might be right handy in a survival situation where you have to signal a rescue helicopter, though.

 

So, yeah. The lights were a definite miss for me, but what about the actual blush?

Physician's Formula pH Matchmaker Blush
Natural

The color is very, very pretty and pigmented.  It’s a medium-bright pink with enough warmth to it that I think it would work on both cool and warm skintones.  I was initially a little worried about the dots of silver glitter that are on the product itself but the good thing is, if you hate glitter, just run your finger over them before you apply for the first time and POOF, they’ll all disappear. I should note that the color didn’t change on my skin AT ALL.  The color you see in the pan is the color you see on my skin/face.  *giving Physician’s Formula serious side-eye*

The texture of this blush was pretty nice.  Not too dusty/powdery — but also not creamy.  On me it lasted a good 8+ hours, with some fading towards the end.  But my skin is very dry and blush fades really fast on me.  Because of its texture, I think this blush will work well for me during the summer heat.

Physician's Formula pH Matchmaker Blush
Natural (my hair is no longer purple, though!)

Overall, I really like this blush and would recommend it for anyone looking for a nice, basic medium pink blush that has a hint of warmth to it.  I can’t say that any of their claims about the color changing to suit your skin are true or that their special pigments or Photochronic wossnames do anything special.  But it’s a pretty blush that has a nice texture and lasts pretty well.  And honestly, I don’t ask my makeup to do more than that.

 

I couldn’t recommend actually using the light-up feature though.  Unless you’re being plagued by vampires, in which case I think this blush will be one of your most trusted and valued weapons in your fight against the undead.

 

This product is paraben-free and Physician’s Formula does not test on animals.

2 responses to “Physician’s Formula pH Matchmaker Blush in “Natural” – review and swatch

  1. HAHAHA a vampire weapon! I love it! What better weapon for beauty junkies to carry than a compact! You are brilliant. see, now you make me want to get it just for that! See, I’m insane that way! The colour is really pretty on you!

Comments make me happy, leave me one!

