Review! Wet N Wild Megaslicks Balm Stain in Rico Mauve and Red-dy or Not

It’s no joke that I love the chubby lip pencils that have flooded the market in recent years.  When Revlon came out with them, I bought a ton of them… riiight before they started selling in China and went off the Cruelty-free list.  Since then I’ve been trying to find a low-end/drugstore alternative.  I especially wanted to find a dupe for “Honey” which for me was a great all-purpose “my lips but better” shade.

Well, I think I’ve found it.  Or close enough!

Wet N Wild has recently come out with their line of chubby lip pencils, called Megaslicks Lip Balm Stain and the two shades I have to show you are Rico Mauve (which I was hoping was a dupe for Revlon’s Honey) and Red-dy or Not which I’ll be comparing to Revlon’s Romantic.

Wet N Wild Megaslick Lip Balm Stain Top: Red-dy or Not, Bottom: Rico Mauve

Wet N Wild Megaslick Lip Balm Stain
Top: Red-dy or Not, Bottom: Rico Mauve

L: Red-dy ot Not, R: Rico Mauve

L: Red-dy or Not, R: Rico Mauve

There are no color descriptions given on Wet N Wild’s website but I’d describe Red-dy or Not as a cool-leaning true red and Rico Mauve as a cool-toned natural pink.  Both colors are opaque in two passes (that’s two passes in the swatch) and can be blotted down to soften the colors.  The consistency is close to a slippery lip balm like Carmex and is shiny but not overly glossy.  After a couple of hours, the shininess fades leaving a more satin finish on the lips.  I don’t find them particularly moisturizing, but neither are they drying.  They DO cling to any flakes or dry spots on the lips so exfoliate before applying! I find they fade evenly, without leaving the Dreaded Lip Ring of Doom. And do they stain? Oh, we’ll get to that…

Here’s how they stack up to their nearest Revlon counterparts:

Left pair: Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Romantic, WnW Megaslicks Lip Balm Stain in Red-dy or Not Right pair: Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Honey, WnW Megaslicks Lip Balm Stain in Rico Mauve

Left pair: Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Romantic, WnW Megaslicks Lip Balm Stain in Red-dy or Not
Right pair: Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Honey, WnW Megaslicks Lip Balm Stain in Rico Mauve

The reds… not even close.  Romantic looks downright anemic compared to Red-dy or Not.  Romantic is much more sheer and warmer, whereas Red-dy or Not is a much cooler red and much more intense.

The naturals… closer but still not dupes.  Honey has a lot more brown and plum in it and Rico Mauve is more of a neutral pink in comparison.  But while they’re not dupes, they’re close enough for me.

But do they stain?  Oh yes.  They stain.

lips_wnw_balmstain_swatch3

This is after SCRUBBING with a wet-nap.  Like, hardcore scrubbing.  And what’s more, Red-dy or Not stained my hand FOR DAYS.  Literally 3 days later, many hand washings, 3 baths later and there was still a swatch of pink on my hand.  This bish means business.  In fact you can see above that both of the Wet N Wild colors stained more strongly than their Revlon buddies.

One more thing I’d like to mention is the packaging.  In most of the chubby style pencils I’ve tried, the caps just push on — they don’t snap or screw on.  However, the WnW ones do snap on, which makes their packaging superior, in my opinion.  The caps that just push on end up getting split because I tend to push them on too hard.  While I’d prefer to see a screw-on cap, the snap on feature makes them a lot safer in one’s purse or pocket.

Overall I think these are wonderful and I hope Wet N Wild make more colors and finishes because I think they have a top-notch product here.

The Wet N Wild Megaslicks Lip Balm Stains sell for $2.99 at Walgreens and can be found anywhere Wet N Wild products are sold.

All products featured were bought by me.  All opinions are mine. 

One response to “Review! Wet N Wild Megaslicks Balm Stain in Rico Mauve and Red-dy or Not

  1. Great review! I’m tempted! Wet N Wild sure has some great products these days.

Comments make me happy, leave me one!